« Tenure track opening in Business & Society at York University (Toronto, Canada) | Main | Call for papers: ASE sessions at the Midwest Economic Association meetings »

09/15/2015

Association for Social Economics program at the 2016 ASSA meetings

Registration for ASSA opens at this link on Wednesday, September 16th, at 11 AM CST (12 noon EST). Be sure to register early to get a room in the Marriott Marquis (the hotel in which all ASE sessions and events will be held).

 

ASSOCIATION FOR SOCIAL ECONOMICS

Allied Social Science Association Annual Meeting

San Francisco, CA, January 3-5, 2016

 

Saturday, January 2, 2016, 6:30 pm, Marriott Marquis, Yerba Buena Salon 8:

Plenary Session and Reception: What We Learned from the Global Financial Crisis

Jan Kregel

(Levy Economics Institute of Bard College, USA; Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia; and University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA):
The Global Financial Crisis: What Have We Learned?

Giuseppe Fontana, Presiding
Univ. of Leeds, UK and Univ. of Sannio, Italy

Reception Immediately Following (Free Event)

 

Sunday, January 3, 8:00 am, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Job Guarantee: Issues in Social and Ecological Justice (J68, Q57)

Presiding: Michael Murray, Bemidji State University, mmurray@bemidjistate.edu

Public Works Program as a Strong Means for Land and Water Conservation in Iran
Zahra Karimi, University of Mazandaran, zakarimi@umz.ac.ir

Bioregional JG: The Creation of a New Social Ethos
Josefina Y. Li, University of Minnesota Duluth, jyli@umd.edu

Complementary Currencies, Communities, Cooperation: The Local Job Guarantee for Sustainable Prosperity
Mathew Forstater, University of Missouri-Kansas City, forstaterm@umkc.edu

Getting Serious about the Limits to Growth: ELR and Economic Restructuring under Decroissance
Hendrik Van den Berg, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, hvan_den_berg1@unl.edu

Redefining Efficiency in Agriculture: Theoretical Contributions from Ecological Economics and Agroecology
Michael Wironen, Gund Institute for Ecological Economics, Univ. of Vermont, mwironen@uvm.edu
Sarah Coleman, Gund Institute for Ecological Economics, University of Vermont, scoleman@uvm.edu
Joshua Farley, Gund Institute for Ecological Economics, University of Vermont, jfarley@uvm.edu
Anna Kusmer, McGill University, anna.kusmer@mail.mcgill.ca
Caitlin Morgan, Food Systems Graduate Program, University of Vermont Caitlin.b.morgan@uvm.edu

 

Sunday, January 3, 10:15 am, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Great Thinkers on Ethics, Economics, and Financial Markets (A13, D63)

Presiding: Jonathan Wight, University of Richmond, jwight@richmond.edu

Aristotle on the Human Consequences of Financial Abstraction
Andrew M. Yuengert, Pepperdine University, andrew.yuengert@pepperdine.edu

Kant on Modern Finance: Are We Treating People Simply as Means?
Mark D. White, College of Staten Island/CUNY, profmdwhite@hotmail.com

Faction and the Warping of Moral Imagination: When Trade becomes a Zero Sum
Sandra J. Peart, University of Richmond, speart@richmond.edu 
David M. Levy, George Mason University, davidmlevy@gmail.com 

Financialisation and Economic Democracy
Andrew Cumbers, University of Glasgow, Andrew.Cumbers@glasgow.ac.uk 
Robert McMaster, University of Glasgow, robert.mcmaster@glasgow.ac.uk 

Comparing Adam Smith to J.M. Keynes on Financial Markets
Jonathan B. Wight, University of Richmond, jwight@richmond.edu

 

Sunday, January 3, 2:30 pm, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Financialisation and Inequality (E44, D63)

Presiding: Philip Arestis, University of Cambridge, pa267@cam.ac.uk

Direct Evidence on the Financial Sources of Rising and Falling Inequality
James K. Galbraith, University of Texas at Austin, galbraith@mail.utexas.edu

Financial Deepening and Economic Inequality
Salvatore Morelli, Center for Studies in Economics and Finance (CSEF), University of Naples, salvatore.morelli@gmail.com

Rising Inequality, Household Finance, and Prospects for the US Economy
Barry Z. Cynamon, Federal Reserve Bank of Saint Louis, barry.cynamon@gmail.com 
Steven M. Fazzari, Washington University, St. Louis, fazz@wustl.edu

The Financial Sector, Economic Growth and the Inequality of Income Nexus: A Critical Assessment
John S.L. McCombie, University of Cambridge jslm2@cam.ac.uk 
Marta Spreafico, Catholic University of Milan, Marta.Spreafico@unicatt.it

Inequality and Indebtedness: Domestic and International Considerations
Michael Kumhof, Bank of England, Michael.Kumhof@bankofengland.co.uk 
Claire Lebarz, Paris School of Economics, claire.lebarz@gmail.com 
Romain Ranciere, Paris School of Economics and International Monetary Fund, romainranciere@gmail.com 
Alexander W. Richter, Auburn University, arichter@auburn.edu 
Nathaniel A. Throckmorton, Indiana University, nathrock@indiana.edu 

 

Sunday, January 3, 4:45 pm, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B (tbc)               

ASE General Membership Meeting

 

Monday, January 4, 7:45 am - 10:00 am, Marriott Marquis, Foothill G

Presidential Breakfast (Fee Event)
Presidential Address by Ellen Mutari:
Social Practices and Economic Life

Giuseppe Fontana, Presiding
Univ. of Leeds, UK and Univ. of Sannio, Italy

 

Monday, January 4, 10:15 am, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Association for Social Economics (ASE) – Association for Evolutionary Economics (AFEE)
Financialisation and Institutional Changes (B52, G34)

Presiding:Tonia Warnecke, Rollins College, twarnecke@rollins.edu

Shareholder Value Orientation, the Acquisition of Financial Assets, and Corporate Cash Holdings among US Corporations, 1971-2013
Leila Davis, Middlebury College, ldavis@middlebury.edu

Financial Liberalization as a Process of Flawed Institutional Change: Institutional Cognitive Dissonance and Systemic
Faruk ÜLGEN, University Grenoble Alpes, Ulgen.Faruk@upmf-grenoble.fr

Governance Structures, Cultural Distance, and Socialization Dynamics: Further Challenges for the Modern Corporation
Christian Cordes, University of Bremen, c.cordes@uni-bremen.de
Sarianna M. Lundan , University of Bremen, s.lundan@uni-bremen.de 
Stephan Mueller, University of Goettingen, stephan.mueller@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de 
Georg Schwesinger, University of Bremen, schwesinger@uni-bremen.de 

Unpacking and Reorienting the Ethical Subcultures of Megabanks and Their Regulators
Edward J. Kane, Boston College, edward.kane@bc.edu

Are Social Banks Really Different? Evidence from Europe
Simon Cornée, University de Rennes 1, simon.cornee@univ-rennes1.fr 
Panu Kalmi, University of Vaasa, panu.kalmi@uva.fi 
Ariane Szafarz, Université Libre de Bruxelles, aszafarz@ulb.ac.be 

 

Monday, January 4, 12:30 am, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Institutions, Markets, and Ethics (G01, D63)

Presiding:Malcolm Sawyer, University of Leeds, M.C.Sawyer@lubs.leeds.ac.uk

The Nature of Institutions: A Computational Perspective
Wolfram Elsner, University of Bremen, welsner@uni-bremen.de 
Claudius Gräbner, University of Bremen, graebnerc@uni-bremen.de

Restoring the Ethical Basis of the Opportunity Society in the Post-Subprime Era: Community Provisioning, the Logic of Reinvestment, and the Circular Economy
Gary Dymski, University of Leeds, G.Dymski@leeds.ac.uk 
(with Melody Chiong, Jesus Hernandez, and Lisa Mohanty)

The Size and Effects of Underwater and Barely-Above-Water Mortgages
Robert H Scott III, Monmouth University, rscott@monmouth.edu 
Steven Pressman, Monmouth University, pressman@monmouth.edu

The Case for “Economy Harm Profile” Analysis
George DeMartino, University of Denver, george.demartino@du.edu 

 

Monday, January 4, 2:30 pm, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Financialisation, Policy and Spatial Inequalities (E44, N20)

Presiding:Ilene Grabel, University of Denver, Ilene.Grabel@du.edu

De-Financialising the Financial System
Malcolm Sawyer, University of Leeds, M.C.Sawyer@lubs.leeds.ac.uk

Varieties of Capitalism, Increasing Income Inequality, and the Sustainability of Long Run Growth
Mark Setterfield, New school for Social Research, mark.setterfield@newschool.edu 
Yun Kim, University of Massachusetts, Yun.Kim@umb.edu

Monetary Policy in a Financialised World: Evidence from European Regions
Philip Arestis, University of Cambridge, and University of the Basque Country, pa267@cam.ac.uk
Giuseppe Fontana, University of Leeds, and University of Sannio, G.Fontana@lubs.leeds.ac.uk
Peter Phelps, University of Leeds, P.Phelps@leeds.ac.uk

Uncovering Ethical Earnings in the Financialisation Era: A Comparative Study between the UK and US Labour Force
Aurelie Charles, University of Bath, A.Charles@bath.ac.uk
Sunčica Vujić, University of Antwerp, suncica.vujic@uantwerpen.be

Financialization, Fiscal Policies and Differential Interest Rates in Core and Periphery Countries of Eurozone: A Monetary Theory of Production Approach
Andrea Pacella, University of Catania, apacella@lex.unict.it 
Riccardo Realfonzo, University of Sannio, realfonzo@unisannio.it 

 

Tuesday, January 5, 10:15 am, Marriott Marquis, Pacific B
Association for Social Economics (ASE) – International Association for Feminist Economics (IAFFE)
Financialisation and Gender (J16, G01)

Presiding:Alicia Girón, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), alicia@unam.mx

Even-after’ Access? Gender Matters in Financialisation in Ghana and South Africa
Shoba Arun, Manchester Metropolitan University, s.arun@mmu.ac.uk 
Samuel Annim, University of Cape Coast, and University of Central Lancashire, skannim@gmail.com 
Thankom Arun, University of Central Lancashire, and University of Stellenbosch, tgarun@uclan.ac.uk 

Seven Ways to Knit Your Portfolio: Is Investor Communication Neutral?
Henriëtte Prast, Tilburg University, H.m.prast@uvt.nl 
(with Cecilia Boggio, Elsa Fornero and Jose Sanders)  

Child Marriage as a Financial and Economic Transaction
Quentin Wodon, World Bank, qwodon@worldbank.org

Family Labor Supply and the Timing of Cash Transfers: Evidence from the Earned Income Tax Credit
Tzu-Ting Yang, University of British Columbia, nestofdata@gmail.com

Women as Social Economic Innovators after the Crisis
Zohreh Emami, Alverno College, Emami@alverno.edu 

Economics of the Unschooled Child Worker: Parental Motivation and Human Development Consequences for the Girl Child
Sanjukta Chaudhuri, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire, chaudhs@uwec.edu

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment